A community in which webmasters can ask for help with topics such as PHP coding , MySQL , IT jobs, web design, IT security.
Current location:homephp forumphp talk in 2008 yearPHP ignoring mysql_connect requests - page 1
User InfoPosts
PHP ignoring mysql_connect requests#1
I'm new to PHP and have installed on Linux to boot (also a newbie).
Anyway, PHP is working...

<?
$myVar = "test";
echo($myVar);
?>

... works just fine.

But...

<?

$dbhost = "localhost";
$dbuser = "myuser";
$dbpass = "mypass";
$dbname = "mydb";

echo($dbhost . "-" . $dbuser . "-" . $dbpass . "-" . $dbname);

$conn = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass) or die("Unable to connect to MySQL");
print $conn;

mysql_close($conn);

phpInfo();
?>

... does nothing. Nor errors, nothing. Its as if the code isn't even there.

Any help?

posted date: 2008-12-24 10:54:00

Re: PHP ignoring mysql_connect requests#2
I had made out the solution of this problem. click to view my topic...

hope that hepls.

posted date: 2008-12-24 10:54:01

Re: PHP ignoring mysql_connect requests#3
If it does nothing, doesn't that mean that it connected fine? What output do you expect out of that statement?You could tryerror_reporting(E_ALL);$conn = mysql_connect("localhost", "myusername", "mypassword");if(!$conn) { echo 'Unable to connect';} else { echo 'Connected to database';}var_dump($conn);edit: Addressing the comment saying that you have a mysql query setup, if you are not seeing "success" it means something is wrong with your query. Add to the above$sth = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM tablename");if(!$sth) { echo 'unable to query: ' . mysql_error();} else { echo 'success';}

posted date: 2008-12-24 11:01:00

Re: PHP ignoring mysql_connect requests#4